March 16, 2018

During my zone-out time yesterday after work, I came across a blog entry on my social media.

The blog discussed how, as a parent, it is OK to just leave the house a mess some evenings. I wanted to reach through the Internet and hug the person.  This is exactly how I feel on most days.  I am just tired – plain, old tired – exhausted even.

The pick-up the kids routine and cook dinner is about as much energy as I can expend some nights after a long day teaching.

My husband and I disagree on this, and sometimes he gets annoyed when I literally “do nothing” at night except cuddle with my kids.

For some backstory, I am working full time and taking a blended post-Master’s course currently.  And so, there’s been an awful lot of messy-house nights over the last month.

When I discovered the blog yesterday, I thought, “Oh! I should send this as a link to my husband so he can understand where I am coming from lately.”

Big mistake.

I received multiple text messages that countered half of what the article discusses, as well as some doses of reality with what my husband has really thought lately. Reading some of his thoughts kind of stung a bit.

When my husband came home from work, I really did not know what to say. I agreed with some of what he pointed out, but I also disagreed.

Of course, I was too tired to even discuss my thoughts, so I went about the nightly routine business as usual.

On my way to work this morning, I thought, how did a simple text turn into such a larger problem? Needless to say, I think that my husband and I need to sit down and sort some stuff out this weekend…

But, first, I might just catch a few winks!

8 thoughts on “March 16, 2018

  1. I’m with you girlfriend on this one … so the house is a little messy. Your kids are fed and safely tucked in bed. You will all wake up the next morning, healthy and ready for a new day. Whether toys are on the floor or not, sometimes it doesn’t really matter, but your own kids do matter 24/7. Keep up the good ‘un’work 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. My husband and I went through this same exact thing not too long ago. In my case, my husband was right. The house was a disaster and we needed to spend more time cleaning up. When the house is in shambles, both my husband and I get irritated more easily, which does not bode well for our kids. I think there needs to be a balance of spending time doing the necessary house chores and spending time with the kids. It’s hard for us working moms, but not impossible. My husband and I had to work as a team and come up with a plan. Ever since doing that, things have been so much better. The kids are happy and so are we. Hope you can spend some time with your husband this weekend.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I’m joining your club! And I don’t really have any excuse. No advanced schooling, no kids still at home, not even papers to grade. At 55, I’m just tired. But I have to admit, I have always lived under the idea that most things in life are more important than a clean house. I’m not proud of that; it too has caused arguments in my house. And it’s one thing I wish I hadn’t passed on to my daughter. But I guess I don’t regret this decision too much, or I would change it, right?

    Liked by 1 person

  4. “No one ever dies wishing they had dusted more often,” is something that I tell my mom regularly. I love the final line that is a small but mighty act in the mix of all that is happening.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Stories like this make me glad I have never had a husband. When I get home, after I have worked all day, I do not want to clean. And my kids are grown so I don’t even have the pick up the kids and cook dinner thing going on. I agree with you, it’s definitely time for a talk. If he wants a clean house, he needs to help!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment